The Folk Rhythm Volume I: South African Folk, Church & Protest Songs (cdr + dvd)

$ 35.00

CDR with pdf book/mp3s + DVD
Edited by Matlakala Bopape & Patty Cuyler
Northern Harmony Publishing Company, 2004

The Folk Rhythm I set includes a CDR with a book with 16 scores as a printable pdf file,accompanied by audio files and a teaching DVD to guide choruses toward an “authentic” sound. Audio files include pronunciation tracks, individual parts & full performance mp3s for each of the songs. The instructional DVD includes dance instruction and performances of all the songs.

Book includes an introduction with guides to pronunciation and an explanation of tonic sol-fa notation plus scores to 16 traditional folk, church and protest songs.

Listen to performances of the songs in this book using our Bandcamp player:

  • Songs in this volume:

  • 1. Dithotonyana (Sotho folk song) 
  • 2. Fiela (Sotho wedding song)
  • 3. Hamba ka ncane (Xhosa folk song) 
  • 4. Ikhon'i ndawo (Sotho folk song)  
  • 5. Ithemba lami (Zulu church chorus)
  • 6. Jo we (Zulu folk song) 
  • 7. Khotso ya morena (Sotho church chorus)
  • 8. Khutso (Zulu church chorus) 
  • 9. Lesang magwala a cheche (Xhosa struggle song)
  • 10. Matlakala (Sotho wedding song) 
  • 11. Sesi we (Sotho folk song) 
  • 12. Skhandamayeza (Xhosa folk song)  
  • 13. Thina (composed folk song, by T. Mabaso)  
  • 14. Thina sizwe ezimnyama (Zulu struggle song)  
  • 15. uMandela uth'aihlome (Xhosa struggle song) 
  • 16. The South African National Anthem

    Related Products